Herr Award

J. Christian Herr Award

This award is given annually to a member of ASRI, International Society for Immunology of Reproduction, or European Society for Reproductive Immunology, typically in the first 10-15 years beyond accepting a faculty position, who has made outstanding achievements in basic or applied research in reproductive immunology, particularly for investigators involved in technology transfer. The J. Christian Herr award was established by a past president of the ASRI to acknowledge the dedication of his father to invention, innovation and entrepreneurship through decades of volunteerism in the Service Core of Retired Executives (SCORE), a program of the Small Business Administration. The spirit of the award may be found in the words of Louis Pasteur, “There is no true distinction between fundamental and applied science, there is only science in the cause of humankind.”

Previous Winners

      • 2015 Da-Jin Li, MD, PhD, Fudan University Shanghai Medical College, Shanghai, China
      • 2014 Troy Ott, Pennsylvania State University
      • 2013 Vikki Abrahams, Yale University
      • 2012 Andreas Meinhardt, Justus-Liebig-University of Giessen
      • 2011 Chandrakant Tayade, Queen’s University
      • 2010 Charu Kaushic, McMaster University
      • 2009 Udo Markert, Friedrich-Schiller University
      • 2008 Lucia Mincheva-Nilsson, Umeå University
      • 2007 Gil Mor, Yale University
      • 2006 Christopher J. Davies, Washington State University
      • 2005 Sarah A. Robertson, University of Adelaide
      • 2004 Richard G. Lea, Rowett Institute
      • 2003 Petra Arck, Humboldt University
      • 2002 Joanne Kwak-Kim, Finch University of Health Sciences
      • 2001 Christian Thaler, Klinikum der Universität München – Grosshadern
      • 2000 Peter J. Hansen, University of Florida
      • 1999 Don Torry, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
      • 1998 Billy Kutteh, University of Tennessee, Memphis
      • 1997 Hong-Nerng Ho, Academica Sinica, Taipei
      • 1996 Carol Ober, University of Chicago
      • 1995 John McIntyre, Methodist Hospital of Indiana
      • 1994 Ware Branch, University of Utah Health Sciences Center
      • 1993 Joan Hunt, University of Kansas Medical Center