The American Society for 

Reproductive Immunology

Dr. John Gusdon Memorial New Investigator Award

This award is given to a new investigator with trainee status (graduate student, postdoctoral scientist, or resident) who has made a significant contribution by presenting an outstanding research paper during the ASRI Annual Meeting. This award is given annually in memory of Dr. John P. Gusdon, a founding member of ASRI, and an advocate of student participation in ASRI meetings.

2018 Awardees


Yu-Ye Li, Shenzhen ZhongShan Urology Hospital

Sayaka Tsuda
, University of Toyama, Japan

This award is sponsored by

How to Apply

All trainee abstract submissions are eligible for the Gusdon Award.

Required Application Materials

  1. Submit an abstract for the annual meeting
  2. Indicate on your abstract submission form that you wish to be considered for the Gusdon Award
  3. Upload proof of your trainee status in the abstract system.


  • Any trainee presenting a paper at the meeting can select to have his paper considered for the Gusdon Award. Candidates will be asked to produce proof of trainee status (ie: a letter from their supervisor).
  • The top 5-6 selected candidates are required to attend and present their paper orally at the annual meeting
  • The winner will be announced during the ASRI annual meeting.

Past Award Recipients

BAsic Science

2016 Jun Lei, Johns Hopkins University

2015 Puja Bagri, McMaster University

Clinical Science

2016 Mahmood Bilal, Rosalind Franklin University

2015 Nayoung Sung, Rosalind Franklin University 

2014 Ayano Funamizu, Hirosaki University

Earlier Recipients

2013 Niamh Mangan, Monash University
2012 Diana Morales Prieto, University Hospital Jena
2011 Tania Nevers, Brown University
2010 Svetlana Dambaeva, University of Wisconsin
2009 Karen Racicot, Penn State University
2008 Kaori Koga, Yale University
2007 Tal Birnberg, Hebrew University
2006 Caren Schaecher, Southern Illinois University College of Medicine
2005 Shaun Murphy, Brown Medical School
2004 Debrashea Mukherjea, Southern Illinois University College of Medicine
2004 Subaru Higuma, Toyama Medical and Pharmaceutical University
2003 Justine Fitzgerald, Friedrich-Schiller University
2002 Ana Zenclussen, Humboldt University
2001 Shawn Straszewski, Yale University
1999 Ginger Exley, Northeastern University
1991 Christian Thaler, Center for Reproduction and Transplantation
1989 Don Torry, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Copyright © 2019 ASRI
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software