The American Society for 

Reproductive Immunology 

J. Christian Herr Award

This award is given annually to a member of ASRI, International Society for Immunology of Reproduction, or European Society for Reproductive Immunology, typically in the first 10-15 years beyond accepting a faculty position, who has made outstanding achievements in basic or applied research in reproductive immunology, particularly for investigators involved in technology transfer.  

Deadline for nomination: FEB. 15 annually

The J. Christian Herr Award was established by a past president of the ASRI to acknowledge the dedication of his father to invention, innovation and entrepreneurship through decades of volunteerism in the Service Core of Retired Executives (SCORE), a program of the Small Business Administration. The spirit of the award may be found in the words of Louis Pasteur, “There is no true distinction between fundamental and applied science, there is only science in the cause of humankind.”

2023 Award Presentation

2023 award recipient

past herr award recipients

2022 Melissa Herbst-Kralovitz, University of Arizona

2021 Indira Mysorekar, Baylor College of Medicine

2020 not awarded

2019 Ramkumar Menon, University of Texas Medical Branch

2018 not awarded

2017 not awarded

2016 Atsushi Fukui, Hyogo College of Medicine, Japan

2015 Da-Jin Li, MD, PhD, Fudan University 

2014 Troy Ott, Pennsylvania State University
2013 Vikki Abrahams, Yale University
2012 Andreas Meinhardt, Justus-Liebig-University of Giessen
2011 Chandrakant Tayade, Queen’s University
2010 Charu Kaushic, McMaster University
2009 Udo Markert, Friedrich-Schiller University
2008 Lucia Mincheva-Nilsson, Umeå University
2007 Gil Mor, Yale University
2006 Christopher J. Davies, Washington State University
2005 Sarah A. Robertson, University of Adelaide
2004 Richard G. Lea, Rowett Institute
2003 Petra Arck, Humboldt University
2002 Joanne Kwak-Kim, Finch University of Health Sciences
2001 Christian Thaler, Klinikum der Universität München,Grosshadern
2000 Peter J. Hansen, University of Florida
1999 Don Torry, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
1998 Billy Kutteh, University of Tennessee, Memphis
1997 Hong-Nerng Ho, Academica Sinica, Taipei
1996 Carol Ober, University of Chicago
1995 John McIntyre, Methodist Hospital of Indiana
1994 Ware Branch, University of Utah Health Sciences Center
1993 Joan Hunt, University of Kansas Medical Center


  • Applicants are not required to be a member of the society
  • The winner will be announced during the ASRI annual meeting.
  • Awardees for the Herr Award must agree to make an invited presentation at the annual meeting in the year following receipt of the award.

2022 Award presentation

Don Torry, Gil Mor, Ramkumar Menon, Karen Racicot

Diversity & Inclusion: Our Foundation for Scientific Innovation

Many of the greatest ideas and discoveries come from a diverse mix of minds, backgrounds and experiences, and we are committed to cultivating an inclusive work environment. ASRI provides equal opportunities to all members and applicants for awards without regard to race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetic disposition, neurodiversity, disability, veteran status or any other protected category under federal, state and local law.

Copyright © 2020 ASRI
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software